29 |
Live jack in the ditch |
| |
| 1 |
A jack that is moved by a bowl in play into the front ditch within the side boundaries of the rink of play is a live jack. |
| 2 |
The position of a jack in the ditch should be marked by a white indicator, which is not more than 50 millimetres wide and not more than 100 millimetres high and is placed vertically either against the face of the bank or on top of the bank, immediately in line with the jack. As well as the indicator, if the surface of the ditch is sand, lines can be drawn in the sand around the jack. If the surface of the ditch is vegetation or synthetic, the lines can be drawn with chalk. |
| 3 |
The position of a jack in the ditch will be validly altered if the jack is moved by either:
- a toucher in play; or
- a non-toucher while it is partly on the rink and partly overhanging the ditch, as long as part of the non-toucher is still on the rink when it comes to rest after it has moved the jack.
|
| 4 |
If a jack in the ditch is displaced by a non-toucher entering the ditch, law 33.5.2 will apply. |
| 5 |
If, once its position has been marked, there is further valid movement of a jack in the ditch (as described in paragraph 3 above), its new position should be marked (as described in paragraph 2 above) by moving the indicators or removing and redrawing the lines as appropriate. |
|
| |
|
30 |
Dead jack |
| |
| 1 |
If the jack is moved by a bowl in play, it is a dead jack if it:
- passes above the face of the bank;
- passes completely outside a side boundary of the rink of play;
- comes to rest in any hollow in the face of the bank; or
- comes to rest at a distance of less than 20 metres as measured in a straight line from the mat line.
|
| 2 |
A jack is not a dead jack if it comes to rest:
- on top of a toucher at rest in the ditch; or
- on top of any bowls that are at rest within the boundaries of the rink.
|
| 3 |
The skips or opponents in Singles should decide whether a jack is dead or not as soon as they realise it is necessary. (If the players do not realise that a decision is necessary as soon as the jack comes to rest, the decision can still be made even if a number of bowls have been played after the jack came to rest.) If they cannot reach agreement, they should ask the umpire to make a decision. |
| 4 |
If the jack is dead, the end is a dead end and law 31 will apply. |
|
| |
|
31 |
Dead end |
| |
| 1 |
A dead end is not counted as a completed end even if all the bowls required to be played have been played. |
| 2 |
A dead end should be replayed in the same direction unless the skips or opponents in Singles agree to play it in the opposite direction. |
| 3 |
If the jack and bowls need to be transferred to the opposite end of the rink before the end is replayed, they should be carried up the rink. |
| 4 |
If the skips or opponents in Singles or the umpire declare an end dead, the first to play in that end should also play first when the end is replayed. |
|
| |
|
32 |
Rebounding jack |
| |
The end will continue if:
- when the jack is at rest on the rink, it is driven against the face of the bank and rebounds onto the rink of play; or
- when the jack is at rest in the ditch, it is moved by a toucher and this takes it back onto the rink.
|
| |
|
33 |
Jack displacement |
| |
|
33.1 |
Jack displacement by another player |
| |
| 1 |
Displacement of a jack in its original course
- If a jack in its original course is displaced by a member of the team that delivered the jack, the opposing lead should place the mat as described in law 19.1.1 and re-deliver the jack, making sure that it is centred, but should not play first.
- If a jack in its original course is displaced by an opponent, it should be
re-delivered by the same player.
|
| 2 |
Displacement of a jack in motion
If a jack in motion is displaced by a player, the opposing skip or opponent in Singles can choose whether to:
- place the jack where they believe it would have come to rest and replace any part of the head disturbed by the displaced jack; or
- declare the end dead.
|
| 3 |
Displacement of a jack at rest
If a jack at rest within the rink of play is displaced by a player, the opposing skip or opponent in Singles should put the jack back to its former position. |
|
33.2 |
Jack displacement by a wheelchair |
| |
If a jack is displaced by a wheelchair, the wheelchair should be treated as if it was the wheelchair player for all purposes under law 33.1. |
33.3 |
Jack displacement by a neutral person or neutral object |
| |
| 1 |
Displacement of a jack in its original course
If a jack in its original course is displaced by a neutral person or neutral object, it should be re-delivered by the same player. |
| 2 |
Displacement of a jack in motion
If a jack in motion is displaced by a neutral person or neutral object, the skips or opponents in Singles should place the jack where they believe it would have come to rest. If they cannot agree on the jack’s final position, the end should be declared dead. |
| 3 |
Displacement of a jack at rest
If a jack at rest within the rink of play is displaced by a neutral person or neutral object, it should be put back to its former position. If the skips or opponents in Singles cannot agree on the jack’s former position, the end should be declared dead. |
|
33.4 |
Jack displacement during measuring |
| |
| 1 |
If the jack is displaced by the equipment being used by a player during measuring, an opponent should put it back to its former position. |
| 2 |
If the jack is displaced by the equipment being used by the marker during measuring, the marker should put the jack back to a position agreed by the opponents. If the opponents cannot agree, the marker should put the jack back to its former position. |
| 3 |
If the jack is displaced by the equipment being used by the umpire during measuring, the umpire should put the jack back to its former position. |
|
33.5 |
Jack displacement by a non-toucher |
| |
| 1 |
If a jack at rest on the rink is displaced by a non-toucher rebounding from the face of the bank, an opponent or the marker should put it back to its former position. |
| 2 |
If a jack at rest in the ditch is displaced by a non-toucher entering the ditch, an opponent or the marker should put it back to its former position. |
| 3 |
If a jack in motion is displaced by a non-toucher rebounding from the face of the bank, the skips or opponents in Singles should put the jack where they believe it would have come to rest. If they cannot agree on the jack’s final position, the end should be declared dead. |
|
33.6 |
Jack displacement by a bowl from a neighbouring rink |
| |
If a jack at rest on the rink is in danger of being moved by a bowl from a neighbouring rink, any player at the head or the marker should stop the bowl. If the bowl was in its original course and was delivered on a bias that would have taken it back into its own rink, it should be replayed. |